I just got ripped off by Riot

Went to Worlds, bought Poro King plushie and Championship Riven figure. The figure didn’t include a skin code, and they won’t give me a skin code to replace it.

Corduroy N Corduroy Ninja (Riot Games Player Support)

Nov 5, 17:56 PDT

Hi there,

I’m sorry to see that; I was hoping it would end up being in that bag. Unfortunately, we’re not able to replace those cards or unlock the digital content without a valid code.

Corduroy Ninja
Billing, Merch, and Account Support
“Did you hear me coming?”

Ninjacente me

Nov 4, 21:16 PDT

It wasn’t in the box. Nothing in my worlds bag either except for receipts and goodies from worlds.

Corduroy N Corduroy Ninja (Riot Games Player Support)

Nov 4, 20:33 PDT

Hello again,

Usually the card would be inside the box, although I have heard of it being in the bag alongside the figure box as well. It should have a picture of Riven on it, and information about how to redeem the code.

Corduroy Ninja
Billing, Merch, and Account Support
“Did you hear me coming?”

Ninjacente me

Nov 4, 10:01 PDT

Corduroy Ninja

Was the promo card inside the box? Because I looked there was none inside the box, except for the figure and the card of authenticity.

And if it was separate, the live event staff didn’t provide me with one… actually, I have to go home later and check the Worlds bag to see if they slipped something in there :/

Corduroy N Corduroy Ninja (Riot Games Player Support)

Nov 3, 16:43 PDT

Hi there,

I’m sorry for the confusion. The Championship Riven figures purchased at live events came with a special promo card that had a code and instructions for how to redeem that code. However, because purchases at the live event are not handled by our system, we cannot verify or replace those cards if they are lost or stolen.

Corduroy Ninja
Billing, Merch, and Account Support
“Did you hear me coming?”

Ninjacente me

Nov 2, 17:42 PDT

Corduroy Ninja

I’m not asking for a refund or return. I’m just disappointed in the way you guys handle transactions at live events. The fact that the online store gets a free skin code, and the live event store didn’t wasn’t highlighted.

You guys didn’t have a sign or notice at any of the stands at the Staples center letting your customer know that. I only found out after I went back to my hotel room and opened the box. The stadium had a no re-entry policy, so I can’t go back to return it anyways.

This is the description on your website
“Throughout Worlds, the Championship Riven figure also includes a digital unlock of her 2016 Championship in-game skin.”

It does not mention it is an “online exclusive” only. It mislead the customer, me, into thinking I would get the skin if I purchase it even at the venue/live event.

Isn’t that false advertising? Your response seems like dodging responsibility. You’re trying to wash your hands off this by claiming the live event merch store isn’t connected to your system so you can’t look it up.

That’s unfortunate, but you should own up and fix it instead of having your customer pay for your oversight. I’ll have to think twice/thrice before buying from Riot merch store again.

Corduroy N Corduroy Ninja (Riot Games Player Support)

Nov 2, 15:58 PDT

Hello,

Unfortunately we are unable to refund or return Merchandise purchased at live events.

Transactions at live events use a separate checkout system, so we are unable to look them up. We are really sorry for the inconvenience, but due to this limitation we can only make exchanges at the time of purchase during the event.

If you have any other questions, please let me know.

Corduroy Ninja
Billing, Merch, and Account Support
“Did you hear me coming?”

Ninjacente me

Oct 30, 08:32 PDT

I bought championship Riven at Worlds, it didn’t come with skin code. If I had known that would’ve just bought it online :(. All I got was the card of authenticty ———. Can you guys give me the riven skin code? I feel ripped off.

Attachment(s)
tmp_16143-20161030_082447-745979200.jpg

Yeah, so their excuse is the “system” isn’t under their control, so they don’t have a record. If Riot wants to control everything, then why do they not have their merchandise store in their system? Why is it a “separate” system that is out of their control?

I’m never buying anything from them at live events again. I’ll probably think twice before buying something on their website too. Man, this sucks.

